Exeter

IMG_5844

Start to finish, this sweater took me about 3 months to complete. I started this sweater while I was traveling for the holidays. I didn’t even knit a gauge swatch–yikes! I started a sleeve and figured I could always rip it out if it went badly. The yarn is Brooklyn Tweed Shelter in Snowbound that I purchased at Purl Soho in New York City last fall when we visited for the New York Marathon.

IMG_5841

I’m proud of this project because I grew a lot as a knitter. I completed cable surgery countless times after crossing my cables the wrong way (that’s what you get for not paying attention), and fully seamed all the pieces together. It was a fun knit–even if it felt a bit epic. I was definitely ready for it to be over by the time I finished!

IMG_5839

I recognize that a sweater with this much ease is not the most flattering. It has about 7″ of ease on me. I think I’ll wear this open most of the time, but the buttons are handmade wooden buttons from Etsy. ย I’ll mostly be wearing this sweater on the weekends around the house or for walking the dog.

IMG_5840

The one issue I had was with the collar. It does not lay perfectly flat. For some reason, one side of the shawl collar was quite a bit longer than the other side. When I seamed the collar to the neckline, things were a bit janky, but it works. If I were a better knitter, I’d probably have ripped out the collar and re-knit. Ah, well. A great pattern, and overall, a fun knit!

One thought on “Exeter

Leave a Reply

