My first hand-knit sweater & an everyday skirt

IMG_5550

I finished my first hand-knit sweater! It’s the Willard pullover by Hannah Fettig. I started it back in February, and it took me awhile because I couldn’t manage to stay focused on this one project. It’s knit with Quince & Co. Owl, which is a great rustic yarn.

IMG_5572

It’s a pretty basic pullover without any shaping, but that makes it the perfect casual sweater for weekends. We took a day-trip out to Cape May, NJ to visit the beach (and to search for Cape May diamonds), and it was the perfect weight for a cool, breezy early spring day. I’m sure I’ll throw this on with a pair of jeans for many weekends to come. More details over on Ravelry.

IMG_5554

I paired it with a Liesl & Co. Everyday Skirt out of cotton chambray from my Chicago fabric haul. For this version, my third from this pattern, I made a size small. I took about 1″ of ease out of both the front at the back panels so that there was less fullness. I also cut about 3″ off the length (and had a 1.5″ hem). I know I’ll wear this skirt a TON this summer–it’s so easy to throw it on with a t-shirt or tank top. So, while it’s not terribly exciting, it’s definitely a wardrobe workhorse.

 

2 thoughts on “My first hand-knit sweater & an everyday skirt

  1. Pingback: Winter’s last stand | IN THE SELVAGE

Leave a Reply

