Tribal Everyday Skirt

IMG_5483

Happy Friday! Here’s a skirt I actually made back in October around Halloween. You know, during those glorious days in the fall when it’s warm enough to wear boots without tights. It’s the Liesel + Co. Everyday Skirt, and let me tell you what, it truly IS an everyday skirt. Let me tell you a little secret: IT HAS AN ELASTIC WAISTBAND. But, not in a frumpy-dumpy way–in an awesome-no-elastic-in-the-front way!

IMG_5486

I love how this pattern is drafted to give you a flat waistband in the front, elastic in the back, and flat size panels for a more flattering, less frumpy fit. It also has pockets, which are always a win. I’ve worn this skirt  A LOT since I made it last fall. This winter, I’ve been rocking it with tights. The cotton ikat fabric I used from Michael Levine is a great versatile mid-weight that works well for all seasons. I have dreams of making an army of these skirts in chambray, ikat, cotton sateen, linen . . . well, you get the picture. I actually made up one for this winter in a lovely wool that I’ve also been wearing constantly since I made it.

The only change I made is lopping off  close to 4″ of length before hemming. I don’t know if I’m just wicked short (which, I’m 5’5″, so I don’t think I am crazy short?) or if this pattern is made for really tall people or if this pattern assumes you’ll use a deep hem. I think I did a 1″ hem. In any case, this is relevant because if you’re shopping for fabric for this skirt, you’ll end up using a lot less than the pattern demands if you lop 4″ off the bottom. You might want to measure the pattern pieces before you spend some unnecessary dough on more fabric than you need.

This pattern gets two thumbs up from me. Extremely satisfying sew that is a super basic addition to your wardrobe.

6 thoughts on “Tribal Everyday Skirt

  1. This looks great on you. I don’t know if it’s the fabric you chose, or the length or what, but it’s fabulous. A lot of the ones I have seen thus far have been kind of dowdy – but you’re making me think about getting the pattern.

    • Thanks, Masha! I made another one for winter out of black wool that I wear constantly. I will say, if you’re using fabric that is slightly heavier in weight, like wool, you might consider taking out some of the fullness. I know what you mean about that line between dowdy and awesome being tricky–I decided to give this pattern a try after seeing lots of cute and easy-wearing gathered skirts at stores like J.Crew. And, I’m going to make a chambray one for this spring/summer!

  2. Your skirt looks great! I actually decided to go ahead and buy the pattern after seeing yours. I agree with Masha, some of the versions I’d seen just looked a bit dowdy. Maybe taking off the extra length really helped the look of it? Did you size down any? I’ve seen several posts that mentioned they would make their next version a size smaller.

    • Thanks for the compliment! I made a straight size small. I pretty much based it on the waist measurement given for the pattern. I think a lot of it has to do with how you style it. I have been inspired by J.Crew’s full skirts, which always look mega cute and not dowdy at all for whatever reason (might have something to do with their rail-thin models). And, yes, probably the shorter length helps. I aimed to have it fall 1-2″ above the knee, which looking at the pictures on the pattern, is a bit shorter than I think is intended. I’m actually working on a chambray version right now, and I decided to cut a little bit of the fullness out in hopes that will help it look a little less dowdy and more young and hip.

      • Thanks, that helps me a lot. I think I will go with the small now based on the finished waist measurement. I can always adjust the elastic if I need to. I have chambray ready to cut for mine and I’m crossing my fingers that it turns out great!

  3. Pingback: Winter’s last stand | IN THE SELVAGE

Leave a Reply

